Bible 7 & Bible 8: 8th Journal Post

Most of you have figured out that I am a fan of music.  So, I listened to this linked song for about 4 months now.  And, it has gotten stuck deep in my head.  I love the message of the song.  I also struggle with the message of this song.  It is hard for me to fully believe, even though I want it to be true.  The band is Rend Collective, and the song is “My Lighthouse”.  It is an anthem for the fact that God will lead us in the midst of troubled times.

Here are the Lyrics:

“My Lighthouse”

In my wrestling and in my doubts
In my failures You won’t walk out
Your great love will lead me through
You are the peace in my troubled sea
You are the peace in my troubled sea

In the silence, You won’t let go
In my questions, Your truth will hold
Your great love will lead me through
You are the peace in my troubled sea
You are the peace in my troubled sea

My Lighthouse, my lighthouse
Shining in the darkness, I will follow You
My Lighthouse, my Lighthouse
I will trust the promise,
You will carry me safe to shore (Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh)
Safe to shore (Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh)
Safe to shore (Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh)
Safe to shore

I won’t fear what tomorrow brings
With each morning I’ll rise and sing
My God’s love will lead me through
You are the peace in my troubled sea
You are the peace in my troubled sea

Fire before us, You’re the brightest
You will lead us through the storms

Prompt
What line(s) stuck out to you in the lyrics of this song?  What do you think the artists were trying to communicate in the message of the song?  Do you agree with the message of the song?  How have you experienced God bringing peace in the midst of a stressful time in your life?  What are other things you turn to when you are stressed out other than God?  When you turn to other things than God, what has happened?  Have you ever experienced a time when you felt unprotected or undirected by God?  How did that experience make you feel?

Just in case the link did not work, here is the full URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPtIv2lnkTY

Leave a Reply

