Bible 7 & Bible 8: 5th Journal Entry

Full Disclosure:  This post is not as much about what we have talked about in class than the other posts.  In honesty, I just want you guys to listen to a song that has spoken to me recently.  So, this is 100% selfish, but I think you will like it.

Life can get overwhelming.  We have new things thrown at us all the time.  We have new lessons to learn, new relationships to build, and new skills to master.  We have old things that have gone away.  Relationships end or change, lessons are forgotten or replaced, and skills are transformed or adapted.  All of this is complicated and frightening.  My life has been crazy (as many of yours have also), and this song has provided some comforting truth about God’s control is crazy situations.  I want you to see if you can connect with any part of this song.

Here is the link to the song:  “It Is Well” by Bethel Music.  Also, I have included the lyrics to the song below:

Verse 1
Grander earth has quaked before
Moved by the sound of His voice
Seas that are shaken and stirred
Can be calmed and broken for my regard

Chorus
Through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
Through it all, through it all
It is well
Through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
It is well with me

Verse 2
Far be it from me to not believe
Even when my eyes can’t see
And this mountain that’s in front of me
Will be thrown into the midst of the sea

Bridge
So let go my soul and trust in Him
The waves and wind still know His name

It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul

Prompt:

What one phrase stuck out to you when listening to this song?  When you think about the lyrics of this song, what situations are you going through to which this song speaks directly?  Do you feel like you are surrounded by new things right now?  Do you feel like you are surrounded by old/lost things right now?  Is one thing (new or lost) harder to handle than the other?  Or, are they both equally difficult?  What do you think God would say when He speaks into your specific situation?  How does that Word of God cause you to think, act, or grieve differently?

If you are having trouble with the link, here is the full link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNqo4Un2uZI

2 thoughts on “Bible 7 & Bible 8: 5th Journal Entry

Leave a Reply

